“1.04 Journalism Today” – FLVS Journalism 1 Assignment

Interviewing three people today. The first person will be a good friend of mine, his name is Spencer, he just turned 16, like me. Next person will be my mother who is 43. Her name is Lupita. The last person will be my Dad, he is 52 and his name is Curtis. The interviews are below.

Spencer’s Interview

Sunshine: Hey Spencer! So okay where do you get your news?
Spencer: Yo! Um, from the internet
Sunshine: LOL right, any specific sources?
Spencer: Uh yea, Haaretz.com
Sunshine: Okay awesome, same here. So why do you choose to get your news from those sources?
Spencer: Um, because I want to stay informed about the stuff going on in The Land[of Israel]
Sunshine:  LOL Okay yea, that makes sense. So silly question, but has your method of news changed over time?
Spencer: Yes
Sunshine: How so?
Spencer: Well the media has changed so much, like now we get everything in our emails and stuff, so yea. Besides I used to just get news from my parents, now I get it myself.
Sunshine: Okay last question, and then we can talk about whatever. What changes do you think will come next for the news media?
Spencer: Um, well honestly I think news in the future will be rather useless.
Sunshine: LOL Yea I know what you mean.
Thank you so much Spencer for giving me 10 minutes of your time, in the middle of College Dual Enrollment classes to let me interview you. You are awesome 🙂

Lupita’s Interview

Sunshine: Where do you get your news from today?
Lupita: I get my news from the New York Times, the Miami Herald, and CNN
Sunshine: Why do you choose to get your news from those places?
Lupita: Because I think their news is timely and well written.
Sunshine: Has your method of news changed over time?
Lupita: Yes I used to use Google news as [my primary] source of news.
Sunshine: So what changes do you think will come next for the news media?
Lupita: Hmmm it’s hard to predict what’s in the future. I mean the news comes to me, I used to have to seek it out, but now it comes to me so yea. Social media is about as personal and instant as you can get.
Sunshine: Okay one more question. What do you think was a turning point in media in the US was?
Lupita: 9/11. I think 9/11 was a key turning point. Twitter and Citizen Journalism has changed radically and 9/11 I think ushered in that change.
(FYI: In case you can’t tell, my Mom knows a lot about news and stuff like that. She has freelanced for a few magazines and stuff like that as well.)

 

Curtis’s Interview

Sunshine: Where do you get your news from Dad?
Curtis: The internet
Sunshine: Any specific sources?
Curtis: Um the local talk radio, NY Times, and First Coast News.
Sunshine: Why do you choose to get your news from those places?
Curtis: It’s convenient
Sunshine: Okay, and has your method of obtaining news changed over time?
Curtis: Sure! 30 yrs ago, I used to get my news off the TV.
Sunshine: Mmmhmmm, so what changes do you think will come next for the media?
Curtis: I think it’ll be more prevalent texted to your phone, and there will be more social media than just Facebook and Instagram. And all the phones will be more like a tablet, and it will just come straight in, probably whether you like it or not.

 

Leave a Reply

