Goodbye

Goodbye possum, the dog that would always barks when we drove down our old street,

Goodbye to the playground, at Clark park who has seen it all

To all the trees in our spacious yard, who if they could talk, would be able to tell so many stories,

Goodbye to the train track, less than a mile from our house, whose trains never wake me up, but I always hear them if I am awake

Goodbye Blanding Blvd, the street I have seen almost every hour of the day, from 4 am, to high noon,

Goodbye Orange Park High, the school I wanted to be allowed to attend someday, and the school that I saw my Best Friend for Life Samuel W. Cook #68 of the CHS Tigers play in a football game, for my first time,

Goodbye to Cynthia and all the clerks at the post office, who I used to pick the wild marigolds for,

Goodbye to all of Fleming Island, where all my favorite houses are,

Goodbye to the Saddle Club, I’m going to miss hearing your announcer announcing the scores for all the horse racers and just being able to walk a few blocks from my house and watch the horses race,

The one place I have always wanted to take a boyfriend of mine to just hangout on a date someday,

Goodbye to all my friends around town, who I haven’t seen in forever, who I have dreamt of running into in WalMart sometime,

To all my Dad’s ex students, from all the schools that he has substituted at, and from his many classes at  Wilkinson Jr. High, who we are always running into, y’all are so much fun to meet

Goodbye to all the back roads I have ridden down, around here, bumpy, muddy, and twisty as can be,

Goodbye to Pongo, our faithful family dog, who we had for 10 years, and has seen it all, where ever you are now, goodbye

Goodbye to all my team mates from playing volleyball at the YMCA, Most of y’all were so much fun to play with, y’all are great girls, I hope you all make it far in volleyball as I know you all wanted to.

 

Leave a Reply

