“5.00 Intro to the writing process” – FLVS Journalism 1 Assignment

For this journal entry, you will consider the following questions and answer both in as much detail as possible.

1. What are your thoughts on writing in general? Describe your impression of the written word and its importance in the world. Explain how you feel about writing, personally.

2. Is it truly possible to write impartially? Analyze what you know about credible news reporting and compare that with what you know about human beings. Explain your thoughts about whether reporters can remain completely impartial in their work.

Your journal entry should be at least three paragraphs of your own writing, and you must give credit to all sources you use or quote. Try to be as informative as possible. Imagine this is an assignment for a large news organization, and that you are supposed to provide useful information to your readers on this topic.

 

My general thoughts on writing, hmmm interesting question. Well my initial thought would be that I hate writing for school and stuff and I don’t really consider myself that good at it. I think that written words are very important and meaningful.  I think that if we only spoke to our peers instead of writing, to each other, also it would be a downfall for the deaf community.

Personally, I think that if someone has the guts to say something to you in writing, it can be very meaningful, and sincere, on the other hand I think that it really takes guts to say something to someone’s face as well. At the same time, I think that, depending on the person, and how well I now them, and what kind of personality they have, I take something written pretty seriously. I mean if it’s written at least you can go back and say hey, you know you said this, or you said that, whereas if they just say it, it’s like well I don’t remember saying that and now it’s your word against their’s, or whatever.  There is a reason that contracts are written, and signed in writing, it’s meaningful, it’s important, it’s symbolic.

Is it possible to truly possible to write impartially, Yea, I think so. To write impartially, just basically means write fairly, unbiased and totally justly. It’s not easy, but it can be done. You just have to make sure you write with equal parts to both sides of the story. Showing fairness and equality to all the parties involved. I think that we can remain impartial, it is possible, but we are all human, and we all have opinions and feelings, and thoughts, too.

Leave a Reply

