“6.02 Getting an Education” – FLVS Journalism 1 Assignment

For this assessment you must create a life plan.

State your career path and first milestone. Then answer the following questions in at least two sentences each:

  • How do I get there from here?
  • What education do I need to reach this milestone?
  • What education do I need to succeed in this career?
  • What steps can I take now to begin preparing my future?
  • How long might this take me?

When you are done, write a one-paragraph reflection about your life plan. Respond to the overall process. Do you think your goals are reasonable? Why or why not? How does it make you feel to have written a career plan? Why do you think people engage in this kind of activity? Be as thoughtful as you can in your response.

 

Well, I sort of feel weird writing up a life plan for a journalism class, even though I don’t plan on pursuing a career in journalism. But here we go.

My career path, as I see it, at this point (take note: I am only 16. I have a long way to go, and many things might change) is go to a university and study Marine Science. My first goal is to get a sports scholarship for that university. Getting a scholarships require a huge amount of focus, perseverance, and strength, so it will not be easy, at all. Once I get to college, and begin my higher education in Marine Science, I will get an internship at a Marine Science lab, or research center, an important way to get more experience, in my field.

The position I would eventually like to achieve, once I am through with college, is to work for the Florida Fish and Wildlife Commission (FWC) as a Biological Scientist, or a Research Scientist.

This goal will take me several years, but it will be worth it, in the end. The steps I can take now, are to stay dedicated to my school classes, and to my sport, volleyball, in order to make good grades, and be of good skill, so that I can get a scholarship. I am very motivated, and so far, pretty dedicated as well. There will be times when it is very hard o focus, or concentrate, or to just have to the strength to get out of bed, but I know that I will make it, if I stay true to myself, and stay focused.

Leave a Reply

