“7.00 Starting Your Project” – FLVS Journalism Assignment

Reporter’s Notebook

For this journal entry, you will reflect upon your thoughts about journalism. Write two paragraphs showing how your perception of journalism has changed in this course.

In your first paragraph, explain how you felt about journalism before you took this class. Be sure to answer the following questions in your paragraph:

  1. What did you think a journalist was before you started this course?
  2. What did you think the purpose of journalism was before you started this course?
  3. What did you know or believe about journalistic ethics before you started this course?
  4. What did you understand about the difference between impartial reporting and opinion writing before you started this course?
  5. Were you interested in journalism as a career before you started this course? Why, or why not?

Write a second paragraph that explains your thoughts on journalism today. Reflect upon your experiences in this class. Be sure to answer the following questions in your paragraph:

  1. How has your definition of a journalist changed?
  2. What do you think the purpose of journalism is now?
  3. What do you know and believe about journalistic ethics now? How is this different or the same from what you knew before?
  4. How has your understanding of the difference between impartial reporting and opinion writing changed?
  5. Are you interested in journalism as a career now? Why or why not?
  6. What do you believe the future holds for journalism?

Your journal entry should be at least two paragraphs of your own writing, and you must give credit to all sources you use or quote. Try to be as informative as possible.

 

Before this course, Journalists to me have always been newspaper reporters, sports photographers and news anchors. I thought the purpose of journalists was to inform the public about issues, and current events around the world. I knew nothing about ethics, and their role in the world of news or reporting. Impartial and opinion writing  was very important, in my opinion. It was important to distinguish between the two, and not to mix them. I was somewhat interested in a career in journalism when I started this course. The reason being that I was very interested in incorporating photography in my future career, and I thought that Photojournalism would be a good way to do that.

My definition of journalism has changed a little bit, since before I enrolled in this course. My mother, a freelance journalist herself, has always exposed my siblings and I to a several journalistic type events throughout my life. I think that the purpose of journalism is still to inform the greater public of current important events nationally and locally. Like I said before, I didn’t have a clue about ethics, and their role in journalism, and now I see how important they are in journalism, as a whole. I am actually no longer interested in a journalistic career, because I have found something that I am much more passionate about studying and pursuing as a long-term career. I honestly do not know what the future may hold for journalism. I think that possibly journalism, and news will be much more personal, and even more reachable than it already is.

Leave a Reply

